Legacy

Legacy. That word has taken on a much more significant meaning for me over the last month. My dad passed away on January 9th. Although it was a very challenging time, I learned some valuable nuggets about his life that I hadn’t known or fully appreciated prior to his passing. I thought I knew my dad, but I realized I didn’t know him as well as I thought I did. That wasn’t such a bad thing, though. The more that I learned about him the better I was able to deal with his death.

The compassion and love that my dad demonstrated to others was a common theme that was shared by many of our friends and family in their stories and recollections of him and their tributes to him. They also spoke highly of his character, studious nature, and willingness to freely share the spiritual wisdom and practical knowledge that he acquired throughout the 75 years of his life. I had a lot of love and respect for my father while he was alive, but my view of him grew exponentially after hearing the incredible ways in which he touched so many people. A few times I actually said to myself, “Wow, that was my dad!”

The impact that he has had on the people who were connected to his life will extend beyond his lifetime for generations to come, because of the multiple generations of people that he positively impacted. What is really interesting is that I can’t recall a time when I heard my dad use the term legacy when talking about his own life. He didn’t have to talk about it. He just did it.

Previously, I thought that I had chartered a brand new entrepreneurial path within my family. Well, I was only partially right. I now have a broader understanding to realize that although my dad was not an entrepreneur, he had a pioneering spirit that is now living on in me. My life as a social entrepreneur carries forward his legacy of love, unselfishness, and compassion. I have the incredible privilege, honor, and responsibility to build on the legacy that he started (or actually that he continued to build on from his predecessors).

As you consider where you are on your entrepreneurial journey, stop and think about those who came before you that laid the foundation for what you are doing right now. You too have the responsibility to build on what they have left to you. Don’t allow their work to be in vain by overworking yourself or chasing after money or prestige. Their lives were more significant than that. Yours should be too.

Empowering Champions,

Paul Wilson, Jr.

About Paul Wilson Jr.
Paul Wilson, Jr. is a "Dream Catalyst" and Marketplace Pastor for leaders and entrepreneurs. He is driven to lead people to unleash God’s potential in their lives through their purpose, passions, and professional skills. He equips leaders with creative, faith-based strategies to flourish spiritually and professionally, while operating from several multi-media platforms, including TV show host, inspirational speaker, and stimulating writer. Paul is the President of Kingdom Business University, which utilizes workshops, consulting, and coaching services to ignite Christian catalysts maximize their God-given mission in the marketplace. He is the author of the life purpose igniter “Dream B.I.G. in 3D: How to Pursue a Bold, Innovative God-Inspired Life!” He is also the host of Passion in Action, a motivational and educational faith-based Internet TV show for social entrepreneurs, business leaders, and community change agents. Contact us today to learn more about how he can help your business, church, or community to thrive on purpose!

Leave a Reply

