Pray for Africa

My heart is broken to see the violence that has swept the country of Kenya over the past couple of weeks. Until a few years ago, I probably would have not given much thought to the events beyond looking at the news or reading it on the Internet. I would have viewed the situation as “their” problem. I was sympathetic, but not empathetic as in I didn’t share their pain.

In October 2006 I had a life changing, paradigm shifting experience. On my first trip across the ocean, I had the incredible opportunity to go on a missions trip to Rwanda. I came back from that trip with a whole new perspective on the world and an entirely new outlook on Africa. Before going, I thought I recognized them as human beings with hopes, dreams, feelings, issues, challenges, etc. Nevertheless, as crazy as this is going to sound, seeing them face to face and spending time with them gave me such a new and powerful appreciation for their humanity and dignity as human beings. For the first time, I saw Africans as my true brothers and sisters. But not just Africans. I began to see all people around the world as my brothers and sisters.

So, when I see the reports of Kenyans, Sudanese and many other Africans dying violently, especially children, I now feel a deep sense of sadness, knowing that my brothers and sisters are hurting. The images that I see on TV and the Internet now are not just of “those people”, but they could be the family, friends or neighbors of the people with whom I shared stories, laughed, cried and built friendships. Furthermore, “those people” are future world leaders, business people, doctors, lawyers, Olympians, entrepreneurs, educators, scientists and more. If you want a real-time example, just look at what’s happening in our own presidential election here in the United States.

I don’t know how you feel, but I can’t sit idly by and do nothing. The best thing that I can do right now is pray. Pray for the families. Pray for the children. Pray for the leaders. Pray for corruption to end and the violence to stop. Pray for poverty to decrease and education to increase. Pray for food to be plentiful. Pray for diseases to be cured and medicine to find those who need it. Pray for spiritual, emotional, and relational healing between the tribes. Pray a prosperous future, because whether or not you realize (or accept) it, our futures are tied together through the global economy.

Although, we as humans often can’t understand why we do such horrible things to one another, God is able to handle it all. So, please remember to pray for Africa.

Empowering Champions,
Paul Wilson, Jr.

About Paul Wilson Jr.
Paul Wilson, Jr. is a "Dream Catalyst" and Marketplace Pastor for leaders and entrepreneurs. He is driven to lead people to unleash God’s potential in their lives through their purpose, passions, and professional skills. He equips leaders with creative, faith-based strategies to flourish spiritually and professionally, while operating from several multi-media platforms, including TV show host, inspirational speaker, and stimulating writer. Paul is the President of Kingdom Business University, which utilizes workshops, consulting, and coaching services to ignite Christian catalysts maximize their God-given mission in the marketplace. He is the author of the life purpose igniter “Dream B.I.G. in 3D: How to Pursue a Bold, Innovative God-Inspired Life!” He is also the host of Passion in Action, a motivational and educational faith-based Internet TV show for social entrepreneurs, business leaders, and community change agents. Contact us today to learn more about how he can help your business, church, or community to thrive on purpose!

Leave a Reply

