In Sync?

no-move1I wrote a post 2 days ago in my other blog, Biznovations.net, about my new adventures with a Blackberry Bold and social networking technology. I really enjoy working/playing with my new toy/mobile telecommunications device.

One of the proclaimed features of the Bold is software that is supposed to synchronize the information on my phone with the information on my MacBook, including my email, contacts, calendar, tasks, bookmarks, iTunes, photos, etc. The reason that I say “supposed to” is that I haven’t been able to get it to work properly.

The total time I’ve spent trying to get this thing to synchronize is probably a couple of hours, considering all the research and troubleshooting that I’ve done including: reading the user manual; playing with the phone settings; resetting the phone by taking the battery out and putting it back in; posting my problem in the online support forum; Googling web sites with potential solutions posted by others having the same issues as me.

And guess what… it still doesn’t work! So for now I’ve resigned myself to just dealing with it and hope a new software solution will come out soon that will synchronize my mobile life.

This whole process has been very frustrating. I was even more frustrated when I thought about all of the time that I had wasted for something that was a preference more than a necessity. A thought then occurred to me: How much time do I spend synchronizing the most important things in my life? Am I in sync with my wife? Am I in sync with my children? Am I in sync with God’s expectations for me?

These essential elements of my life are much more important than my phone and laptop. However, sometimes it’s easy to fall into a rut where I’m more focused on me than other things. I realize that I get very frustrated when I invest more time in synchronizing my technology than I do in synchronizing the most critical and essential areas of my life.

How about you? Where are you out of sync? How much time do you invest getting in sync with what’s most important?

Check back on my next post to learn how to avoid the same kind of results in your life that I had with my phone and laptop. Until then… thrive on purpose!

Paul Wilson, Jr.

Follow me on twitter

droppedimage

About Paul Wilson Jr.
Paul Wilson, Jr. is a "Dream Catalyst" and Marketplace Pastor for leaders and entrepreneurs. He is driven to lead people to unleash God’s potential in their lives through their purpose, passions, and professional skills. He equips leaders with creative, faith-based strategies to flourish spiritually and professionally, while operating from several multi-media platforms, including TV show host, inspirational speaker, and stimulating writer. Paul is the President of Kingdom Business University, which utilizes workshops, consulting, and coaching services to ignite Christian catalysts maximize their God-given mission in the marketplace. He is the author of the life purpose igniter “Dream B.I.G. in 3D: How to Pursue a Bold, Innovative God-Inspired Life!” He is also the host of Passion in Action, a motivational and educational faith-based Internet TV show for social entrepreneurs, business leaders, and community change agents. Contact us today to learn more about how he can help your business, church, or community to thrive on purpose!

3 Responses to In Sync?

  1. Robert says:

    What software are you using to make this happen? packetmac is available, but you have to download the patch to make it work with the bold… If I can help, let me know… hit me on twitter “rwlyonsjr”

  2. creativestu says:

    I’m using a the new MacBook Pro and I can’t get my BB Curve to sync either… I’m in exactly the same boat with you… It’s very frustrating!

  3. jason kenny says:

    Interesting, but usual =)

Leave a Reply

