“Uncommon” Anniversary

three-fingers-smallToday is the third anniversary of my foray into full-time entrepreneurship. Wow! Where has the time gone?

Three years ago I left a job making nearly $90k per year to pursue a dream that God put in my heart, without a guarantee of income or success. This may not seem like that big of a deal until you consider the fact that my wife is an at-home mom, which means that we have pretty much had only one income for the past three years.

I didn’t know what I was getting myself into when I submitted my resignation letter. This three year adventure has definitely resulted in our share of mountains and valleys. It’s been the most challenging and yet the most empowering experience of my life. The greatest benefit that I have gained from this process has not been business skills necessarily, but character development.

I don’t use the term “uncommon” anniversary, because of the fact that many entrepreneurs don’t make it this far (depending on the statistics you read). This is an uncommon anniversary, because I am realizing that to live a fully purposeful, thriving life, I  have to be uncommon versus being average or mediocre. To truly succeed, I need uncommon amounts of the following:

  • Vision
  • Commitment
  • Passion
  • perseverancePerseverance
  • Persistence
  • Faith
  • Sacrifice
  • Optimism
  • Courage
  • Humility

This real life, trial-by-fire school of business has been one of the best teachers I could have, simply for the fact that many of the lessons I’ve learned extend beyond business into my personal life. One of the most critical lessons is the value of strategic relationships, particularly my marriage.

During these three years my wife has been my biggest cheerleader, especially in those time when I began to doubt that my business would succeed. This time has been just as difficult for her as it has been for me (maybe even more), because of the sacrifices that we’ve had to make. One thing that’s amazing about her is she understands this business it’s about fulfilling our life purpose more than just creating a successful enterprise. We have partnered together to build a multi-generational financial, relational, and spiritual legacy for our family. My wife, who had no entrepreneurial aspirations before, now has the desire to start her own business. Incredible!

Last week she gave me the idea for a title of a book that will describe our journey together through this process. However, I can’t tell you what it is, because it would spoil the surprise  – and our story isn’t over yet. The best is yet to come!

I’m definitely looking forward to the next three years and beyond. I can’t wait to see what God has on the horizon.

P.S., Check back here on the blog tomorrow and I’ll have something else for you in terms of what it truly takes to be an “uncommon” person.

Dream B.I.G.,

Paul Wilson, Jr.

Connect with me on twitter.com/pwilsonjr

Are you a B.I.G. Dreamer?

droppedimage

About Paul Wilson Jr.
Paul Wilson, Jr. is a "Dream Catalyst" and Marketplace Pastor for leaders and entrepreneurs. He is driven to lead people to unleash God’s potential in their lives through their purpose, passions, and professional skills. He equips leaders with creative, faith-based strategies to flourish spiritually and professionally, while operating from several multi-media platforms, including TV show host, inspirational speaker, and stimulating writer. Paul is the President of Kingdom Business University, which utilizes workshops, consulting, and coaching services to ignite Christian catalysts maximize their God-given mission in the marketplace. He is the author of the life purpose igniter “Dream B.I.G. in 3D: How to Pursue a Bold, Innovative God-Inspired Life!” He is also the host of Passion in Action, a motivational and educational faith-based Internet TV show for social entrepreneurs, business leaders, and community change agents. Contact us today to learn more about how he can help your business, church, or community to thrive on purpose!

Leave a Reply

