re:Position Your Passions

Passionate pursuit

re:Position runnerI was invited to do a radio interview this past Saturday on a college campus in metropolitan Atlanta. This was an incredible opportunity, especially with my book coming out in a few weeks. I was supposed to arrive 30 minutes before I was to go on the air  so I could get settled, meet the show’s host, etc. I was about 10 minutes late (not a good first impression) as I arrived at an off-campus building where I thought the radio station was (I misread the directions – not good either).

I walked inside the building and started looking for the radio station. I asked a couple of people who had no idea what I was talking about. I then realized I was in the wrong building. I was more than a half mile away from the other building and across a freeway overpass. That wouldn’t have been that big of a deal (other than the fact I was late) if my wife hadn’t dropped me off and then left! I frantically tried to call her cell, but she couldn’t hear it because it was on vibrate mode in her purse. Ugh!

At that point I had a choice to make. Either I could: 1) call the station to reschedule the interview, or 2) try to walk/run to the other building in my suit, dress shoes, and laptop bag hanging off my shoulder. What would you have done? I decided to make a run for it.

I’m a little bit in shape, but I wasn’t in shape enough for that gauntlet. I walked and ran and huffed and puffed over the freeway overpass, through a couple of intersections, past soccer fields, and up the hill to the building I was supposed to be at originally. I made it there just in time to catch my breath, wipe off the sweat, get something to drink, and quickly gather my thoughts before my segment came up. WHEW!

How bad do you want it?

You may be thinking, “Interesting story, but how does it relate to the title of this blog?” I’m glad you asked!

People often confuse passion with excitement. Passion is much more than excitement. Real passion involves a deep commitment to your goal no matter what difficulties, challenges, obstacles, ridicule and suffering you have to endure.

re:Positioning your passion means your personal well-being becomes secondary to the pursuit of a significant cause – whatever that is for you. Truly passionate people have an unselfish, focused determination to achieve their goal no matter what it might cost them personally.

You see, I wasn’t excited about having to run that far to get to the radio station, but I was purposefully committed to my goal to the point I was willing to overcome my obstacles of distance, lack of transportation, very little time, and the wrong clothes for running. Even if I wouldn’t have made it on time, I still had to try.

So what cause are you passionate about that you’re willing to endure pain and inconvenience to see it accomplished? Are the things you say you’re passionate about really more of a reflection of your excitement or maybe only heightened interest? A key to answering these questions is finding something to believe in that has a purpose or significance that’s bigger than your personal desires; something that could impact thousands or even millions of people.

One reason I was willing to make that trek was because I believe the legacy I’m building through writing, coaching, teaching, and motivating people will outlast my lifetime. I didn’t want to miss a strategic opportunity that would assist me in accomplishing my life purpose to be a transformational catalyst in others’ lives.

What about you? What significant cause have you passionately committed your life to that will last past your lifetime? In what ways can you re:Position your passions?

Dream B.I.G.,
Paul Wilson, Jr.

re:Position Summit facilitated by Paul Wilson, Jr.
“Shift your life from striving to THRIVING!
~ Learn how to flourish in any economic environment ~
Saturday, May 2, 2009
Alpharetta, GA

droppedimage

About Paul Wilson Jr.
Paul Wilson, Jr. is a "Dream Catalyst" and Marketplace Pastor for leaders and entrepreneurs. He is driven to lead people to unleash God’s potential in their lives through their purpose, passions, and professional skills. He equips leaders with creative, faith-based strategies to flourish spiritually and professionally, while operating from several multi-media platforms, including TV show host, inspirational speaker, and stimulating writer. Paul is the President of Kingdom Business University, which utilizes workshops, consulting, and coaching services to ignite Christian catalysts maximize their God-given mission in the marketplace. He is the author of the life purpose igniter “Dream B.I.G. in 3D: How to Pursue a Bold, Innovative God-Inspired Life!” He is also the host of Passion in Action, a motivational and educational faith-based Internet TV show for social entrepreneurs, business leaders, and community change agents. Contact us today to learn more about how he can help your business, church, or community to thrive on purpose!

Leave a Reply

